Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

kir royaleI once ordered a kir royale at the Olive Garden. Part of me wanted to see what they would do, and part of me just wanted a kir royale.

I was not disappointed. The poor bartender, who looked like he was about thirty seconds past his 21st birthday, stared at me in total confusion as soon as I ordered. I realize I might have technically been speaking a foreign language, but he worked at a freaking Olive Garden. It’s not like spaghetti is English.

So, he looked up the recipe in a well-thumbed guide, and brought me (with no small amount of pride) a drink in a highball with ice and a paper-wrapped straw. There may also have been a club soda floater on it, I’m not sure about that part. I couldn’t help laughing….and switching my order to a glass of Lambrusco in case anything else was too exotic for him.

I rarely order kir royales in chain restaurants anymore.

Besides, my regular drink is an old fashioned.

old fashioned

The recipe has several variations, and depending on what sort of whisky is used, the drink can vary in sweetness and depth. I order them often, and find that the best ones usually come in a restaurant that specializes in steak. In case you don’t know me personally, I’ve been a vegetarian for eight years, and not the kind of “vegetarian” that still occasionally eats chicken. And if you are that kind of “vegetarian”, you’re not really a vegetarian. Just tell me you’re limiting your meat intake. I’ll respect you more. I’m the kind of vegetarian who goes to a steakhouse and orders mac and cheese.

All that aside, El Gaucho has so far made my favorite old fashioned in Seattle. Next time, I’ll dare try a kir royale, even if it is a chain restaurant.